Stalled View updates due to missing `ce-subject` attribute

Hello!

Ignoring the details, I have an entity A that emits events. Then I have an action B that writes those events to a topic. Then I have a view C subscribing to that topic.

service B {
  option (kalix.codegen).action = {};

rpc OnFoo(domain.Foo) returns (journal.Foo) {
    option (kalix.method).eventing.in = {
      event_sourced_entity: "foo"
    };
    option (kalix.method).eventing.out = {
      topic: "foo-journal"
    };
  }

The issue is that view C does not update.

2023-05-03 09:11:37,356 ERROR kalix.javasdk.impl.DiscoveryImpl - Error reported from Kalix system: KLX-00121 An incoming event for the view [View] was missing the subject id attribute `ce-subject`, view updates are stalled.

Each update passed to a view must have a subject id, used as a primary key in the view, each unique subject-id can only have one entry in the view, if the update comes from a message broker the subject id is defined with the cloud event attribute [ce-subject]. 

To try to fix this, in B I did:

effects.reply(event, actionContext.metadata)

and

effects.reply(event, Metadata.empty.set(MetadataImpl.CeSubject, actionContext.eventSubject.get))

However, none of the two work and I still get a stalled View C.

How can I pass the subject id from an entity to a topic in B?

Hi @glop.postbox.0u

let me try to reproduce it and I will get back to you.

Ok, everything works correctly on my machine. Although I was testing it with in Java (proto) sdk. I could check it again with Scala, but before that, are you sure that you have cleaned the topic with the old data (without CeSubject)?

You’re right, sorry I missed the “clean the topic” part.

Curious what’s the reasoning behind this decision though. In the Publishing Entity events to a Topic the code used is

override def increase(valueIncreased: ValueIncreased): Action.Effect[Increased] = {
    effects.reply(Increased(valueIncreased.value)) 
}